Delor.es.Defacto

she knew she had to change her plans

It’s the smiling on the package December 31, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — deloresdefacto @ 5:12 pm

Let’s talk about widgets and WordPress design for a second. Here’s what grinds my gears about widgets:

As you can see, I like to have everything in my sidebar categorized and personalized with titles. So I have a section for quotes and readers and wishlists and recommendations, etc. And I have used the last section for the readers and upcoming events with script code instead of widgets because each widget requires its own sidebar section with or without a title. That irritates me. I know the page would flow a lot easier and the scripts wouldn’t halt the loading of the page as much but I don’t want each stupid widget to have its own title in a sidebar. I want them categorized.

So to all WordPress developers out there, I think the new version of WordPress should have a capability where you can put widgets into categories. That way when you arrange the widgets for the sidebar in “Presentation” you can put all of the stupid community widgets like MyBlogLog and Bumpzee into one sidebar divided section. With the way it is now, with the scripts, I can’t put all of that stuff in the text editor of the sidebar because it’s way to cluttered as is and, again, the scripts make the page slower toward the bottom where I had to start putting code in because each freaking widget needed its own title.

Plus the stupid widgets that require code, make background lines underneath your links, regardless of your settings when you configure the thing at their site. So this MyBlogLog widget, for example, looks like cheap crap because it makes trailer shadows under the link text. I’m assuming there’s a conflict between the colors in the widget and the color setting in the template’s CSS. Sigh…What a pain in the ass.

And it’s off to begin the New Year’s festivities again. We went out last night and had a good time. I like catching up with everyone. We did decide, however, that Sunday is nothing compared to Saturday (musically and socially). Anyway, hope everyone has a safe time tonight. I’m off to dinner for Dad’s birthday, then our kick ass party at Fran’s Dad’s house. Ha ha. Cheers, ya’ll!

Photo credit: skelastic

http://www.deloresdefacto.com/?p=60

 

Leave a Reply

