Delor.es.Defacto

she knew she had to change her plans

Nobody knows how to talk to children December 26, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — deloresdefacto @ 3:11 pm

Big sigh as Christmas is now over. It wasn’t bad or anything it was just busy. It’s those two days that you spend trying to enjoy the holiday while running all over the place and feeling disoriented. Saturday and Sunday I watched the dogs and did my house sitting for Fran. Sunday night we watched Spiderman 3. I’ll go as far as to say that I liked it. I don’t agree that it’s the best one out of the trilogy but it was pretty good. I think it was just all Topher Grace — I just love him because he has some freaking personality and his cuteness just makes it better.

Monday we picked Laura up from the airport in the morning. Sunday night we had checked to see how late flights were delayed in NY due to the storm: 3-4 hours. But by morning they were on time so I got myself up early and went to Fran’s to drive over with her. Then I stayed for a while at her house, we ate lunch, watched Princess Bride, visited Mom and Dad for a while and then came home for a nap. Then the busy-ness started.

At 8 o’clock we were at Fran’s Dad’s house for Christmas Eve. We exchanged our gifts between the three of us and I wore my kick ass White Stripes shirt that Laura already gave me that afternoon. It’s very Christmasy so I wore it as my non-dress up, hang out shirt off and on Monday and Tuesday. Anyway, Fran got me some Nightmare Before Christmas stuff and this shirt that I freaking love that has the heart and the barbed wire around it.

Then it was back home to get a shower, try on a few outfits before settling on my standard “going out” shirt and skirt (because that’s all that will freaking fit anymore and at least one of my New Year’s Resolution will have to be to lose this extra weight so my hips will squeeze into my size 8 jeans again without wheezing.) It started to rain, of course, and I easily found a parking space at church. I went to Midnight Mass and actually had to get on one of the nieces case about being too loud. (I mean, she was funny but she was so freaking distracting for the rest of us who were trying to find solace in the moment.) The sermon was good actually because Father made a point of talking about how going to mass doesn’t make you a good Catholic, it just reminds you once a week of what is really important.

After mass, I came home at 1:30 and stayed up until 3:30 to wrap presents. This has been a long standing tradition for me because I learned it from my grandmother. We wait until the last minute, gather up all the gifts and wrap until late at night and by the time Christmas comes and everyone is ready to open them, the sleep part was skipped. I started my own tradition of watching A Christmas Story during the marathon on TBS and wrapping my presents on the floor in front of the television. The funny thing was that it occurred to me that this was the first Christmas I spent in my new apartment because last year I was sick and had the gall bladder surgery and had to stay at my parents’ over that whole week and didn’t come home until the day after Christmas. That made me happy to know that I had my own little nook in the world to have my Christmas to myself for a while. I plugged in my little silver tree, put on the red garland, turned on the lights on the porch (I have three little gold cone trees that light up) and enjoyed the moment while I could.

But that was short lived because I went to sleep, then got up at 8 o’clock again to start the running around all over again. I took my shower, went to Circle K, got gas and coffee and proceeded to my parent’s house with my presents in tow (three each for Mom and Dad; not bad for a broke gal like me.) Dad wasn’t all for the cheeriness of the day and I was sort of irritated that he wasn’t just letting things go and having a good time like Mom and myself were. (I’m sure there’s a grammatical error in the sentence but oh well.) I got a cool necklace with my name on it a la Carrie Bradshaw, perfume, stuff for the bedroom, stuff for the bathroom, fuzzy socks, a purse, a cordless sweeper thing (because I freaking hate to vacuum), my all in one printer, a Winnie the Pooh (it’s been a long standing joke since I was a kid that I was the only child without a Winnie the Pooh stuffed animal so now at age 31, my mother finally bought me one.) Then I got my long awaited camera. I love it and I can’t wait to try it out somewhere other than here while taking pictures of the cat (he never stands still long enough to get good shots of him anyway.)

After the gifts and the dinner and the parade on TV, I went home to take a nap at 1 o’clock. I was to go back to Fran’s Dad’s at 2:30 but I was neither in the mood for lasagna (the food I already had at Mom and Dad’s was already giving me heartburn and refusing to go down completely) so I slept until 4:00, got a shower and headed back over to see my “other” family for a while. By the time I was done it was 7:00 and instead of going with everyone to see National Treasure, I went back to pick up my stuff from my parents’ house, ate dinner again, visited and decided to go home. I watched Pirates 1 on TV and tried to just hang out for a bit so I could watch Orlando Bloom as anticipated. While everyone was at the theater, Fran sent me a pic of her kissing James McAvoy on the Atonement poster and included the text message of, “I scored at the movies!” Ha ha ha.

I went to bed after midnight, leaving the Christmas lights on and slept and slept. Now I’m trying to get back into the swing of normal life once again. Damn I hope I get a job soon. Sigh…bring on the New Year.

Photo credit: rjblogs

http://www.deloresdefacto.com/?p=58

 

Leave a Reply

